Home > Profile > gareth > Lists

Climate Change

No review for This Changes Everything

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
A well documented summary of studies relating to the effects of climate change. The chapters are organized by the effects on people, the economy,and the climate for every additional degree of temperature increase. The book is written for an educated layman and is quite interesting. Over half of the book is dedicated to an extensive bibliography which is very thorough and useful for further research.

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
"In his Pulitzer Prize-winning bestseller Guns, Germs, and Steel, Jared Diamond examined how and why Western civilizations developed the technologies and immunities that allowed them to dominate much of the world. Now, Diamond probes the other side of the equation: What caused some of the great civilizations of the past to collapse into ruin, and what can we learn from their fates?" "As in Guns, Germs, and Steel, Diamond weaves an all-encompassing global thesis through a series of historical-cultural narratives. Moving from the prehistoric Polynesian culture on Easter Island to the formerly flourishing Native American civilizations of the Anasazi and the Maya, the doomed medieval Viking colony on Greenland, and finally to the modern world, Diamond traces a fundamental pattern of catastrophe, spelling out what happens when we squander our resources, when we ignore the signals our environment gives us, and when we reproduce too fast or cut down too many trees. Environmental damage, climate change, rapid population growth, unstable trade partners, and pressure from enemies were all factors in the demise of the doomed societies, but other societies found solutions to those same problems and persisted."--BOOK JACKET

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
No review for Don't even think about it

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
All We Can Save is a 2020 collection of essays and poetry edited by Ayana Elizabeth Johnson and Katharine Wilkinson. The collection sets out to highlight a wide range of women's voices in the environmental movement, most of whom are from North America.

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
No review for Losing Earth

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
No review for The New Climate War

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
No review for Post Growth

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
No review for Under a White Sky

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
No review for Drawdown

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
It is worse, much worse, than you think. If your anxiety about global warming is dominated by fears of sea-level rise, you are barely scratching the surface of what terrors are possible--food shortages, refugee emergencies, climate wars and economic devastation. An "epoch-defining book" (The Guardian) and "this generation's Silent Spring" (The Washington Post), The Uninhabitable Earth is both a travelogue of the near future and a meditation on how that future will look to those living through it--the ways that warming promises to transform global politics, the meaning of technology and nature in the modern world, the sustainability of capitalism and the trajectory of human progress. The Uninhabitable Earth is also an impassioned call to action. For just as the world was brought to the brink of catastrophe within the span of a lifetime, the responsibility to avoid it now belongs to a single generation--today's. Praise for The Uninhabitable Earth: "The Uninhabitable Earth is the most terrifying book I have ever read. Its subject is climate change, and its method is scientific, but its mode is Old Testament. The book is a meticulously documented, white-knuckled tour through the cascading catastrophes that will soon engulf our warming planet."--Farhad Manjoo, The New York Times "Riveting. . . . Some readers will find Mr. Wallace-Wells's outline of possible futures alarmist. He is indeed alarmed. You should be, too."--The Economist "Potent and evocative. . . . Wallace-Wells has resolved to offer something other than the standard narrative of climate change. . . . He avoids the 'eerily banal language of climatology' in favor of lush, rolling prose."--Jennifer Szalai, The New York Times "The book has potential to be this generation's Silent Spring."--The Washington Post "The Uninhabitable Earth, which has become a best seller, taps into the underlying emotion of the day: fear. . . . I encourage people to read this book."--Alan Weisman, The New York Review of Books No.1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * "The Uninhabitable Earth hits you like a comet, with an overflow of insanely lyrical prose about our pending Armageddon."--Andrew Solomon, author of The Noonday Demon With a new afterword Source: Publisher

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
From the author of Field Notes from a Catastrophe, a powerful and important work about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and field reporting into a compelling account of the mass extinction unfolding before our eyes.

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
No review for Net Zero

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
No review for Climate Crisis and the Global Green New Deal

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
Who can forget the sense of wonder with which they discovered as a child the creatures of the deep? In this vibrant hymn to the sea, one of the world's foremost conservation biologists, known as the "Rachel Carson of the fish world" (The New York Times), takes us back in time to tell the story of man and the sea, from the earliest traces of water on earth to the oceans as we know them today. If you spend time by the sea, you might have noticed that jellyfish are more common now, and fish are smaller and harder to find. But there's a lot more going on beneath the waves that you can't see. What Callum Roberts does in this powerful book is pull together all of the disparate strands of marine science to tell the story of the enormous transformation unfolding around us. The Ocean of Life considers the course of currents first discovered by Benjamin Franklin and the latest developments in ocean chemistry. It looks at pollution and noise pollution, rising tides and temperatures, industrial fishing and aquaculture. It covers everything from shrimp farming in China to the fate of sea fans on Caribbean reefs. It helps us understand how things that we think of in isolation are interconnected and offers clear insights into how we can and must change course. Because our oceans are changing faster than at any time in human history and we are the agents of that transformation. Passionate and persuasive, The Ocean of Life will appeal to readers of The Omnivore's Dilemma and Four Fish and to all grown-up kids who love the sea and want to share its pleasures with their children. - Jacket flap.

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon
No review for Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid

Recent activity

gareth added this book to Climate Change, about 1 month ago
Buy this book at:
Bookshop.org Amazon