Home > Authors > John Steinbeck > Of Mice and Men

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

The second book in John Steinbeck’s labor trilogy, Of Mice and Men is a touching tale of two migrant laborers in search of work and eventual liberation from their social circumstances. Fiercely devoted to one another, George and Lennie plan to save up to finance their dream of someday owning a small piece of land. The pair seems unstoppable until tragedy strikes and their hopes come crashing down, forcing George to make a difficult decision regarding the welfare of his best friend. The novel is set on a ranch in Soledad, CA. Author Frank Bergon recalls reading Of Mice and Men for the first time as a teenager living in the San Joaquin Valley and remembers how he saw “as if in a jolt of light the ordinary surroundings of [his] life become worthy of literature.” Steinbeck works to propagate the notion that meaningful stories emerge from the marginalized; that even those on the fringes...

See on goodreads | librarything

Recent activity

ogingero added this book to Books I don't want to Read, about 1 year ago
PsychoFaerie added this book to Books I Like, about 1 year ago
gareth added this book to Books I Want to Read, over 1 year ago
Buy this book at: Bookshop.org Amazon

21 Books Similar to Of Mice and Men

Bookscovery readers who liked Of Mice and Men also like On The Road, Treasure Island and Brave New World. How many of these have you read?

Comments and reviews of Of Mice and Men

Please sign in to leave a comment